Friday, February 21, 2014

United We Spy review

United We Spy
by Ally Carter
Disney-Hyperion
September 2013

High school senior Cammie Morgan has survived incredible adventures alongside her best friends Bex and Liz at Gallagher Academy, a top-secret boarding school for girl spies. Now, she and her friends should be able to relax and enjoy being recruited by top government agencies such as the FBI, CIA, NSA and MI6. The signature light hearted and fast paced narration features a large cast of characters, but very little exposition. Readers are strongly advised to start with the first book in the series,  I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You.

In this final installment of the series, Cammie is bent on uncovering a secret cabal of villains known as the Circle of Cavan. Using stolen plans from super-genius Liz, the Circle of Cavan are hoping to start WW III and it's up to the jet-setting Gallagher Girls to stop it. Cammie engages in a daring global game of cat and mouse, traveling to Rome, Marseille and a hidden government compound in the Arctic, juggling conflicts with her mother and her boyfriend Zach along the way. Gallagher Girl fans will enjoy the touching graduation scene which brings the series to a satisfying close. With plenty of girl power, I'd recommend Gallagher Girls books for fans of Ally Carter's Heist Society or Kirsten Miller's Kiki Strike books.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.
This review originally appeared in School Library Journal.

No comments:

Post a Comment

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails